Conflict In Congress: Party Dependent On Nehru-Gandhi Family

Conflict in Congress: party dependent on Nehru-Gandhi family for leadership, president of the same family for 40 years. The Conflict in Congress has just stopped for the time being. Congress president Sonia Gandhi will continue to be the interim president of the party even after the party’s working committee meeting. Also, the next president will be elected in six months. However, the Gandhi Nehru family has been holding the post of party president for a long time. Family members have held this position for nearly 40 years.

Sonia Gandhi has held the post of the party president for the longest of these. She has been in the role of Congress President for nearly 20 years. However, after the ouster of power, many times situations have arisen in which Congress has to face the challenge of its own leaders. Sonia Gandhi has faced similar situations before. Let us know how many presidents have been there since independence, apart from Gandhi family and when was the last time such circumstances were created in Congress.

40 years president of Gandhi family: Congress has seen 18 presidents since independence. Of these, only five belong to the Gandhi family, the remaining 13 are from outside the Gandhi family. However, in reality the power and organization has been in the hands of the Gandhi family. Five Congress presidents from the Gandhi family have held this position for nearly 40 years. Since 1998, the presidency of the Congress has remained with the Gandhi family.

Congress went through similar situations in 1998–99; The situation was similar to the party in 1998-1999 as well as the situation regarding the post of Congress president. Since the assassination of Rajiv Gandhi in 1991, many Congress leaders wanted to bring Sonia Gandhi into active politics, though she avoided it for years and became the primary member of the party in Kolkata in 1997. Narasimha Rao and Sitaram Kesari became Congress presidents after Rajiv’s death.

However, he also faced opposition in the party. Kesri was blamed for the party’s weak preparations in the 1998 midterm elections. At the same time, his decision-making style angered leaders like R Kumaramangalam and Aslam Sher Khan, who left the Congress. Gandhi was elected as Congress President on 14 March 1998. The biggest challenge for him was to unite the party.

However, a year later, just before the Lok Sabha elections on 15 May 1999, Sharad Pawar, PA Sangma and Tariq Anwar objected to projecting Sonia Gandhi as the prime ministerial candidate, being of foreign origin. After which Sonia Gandhi resigned. However, on the persuasion of the party leaders, he withdrew his resignation. But these three leaders were expelled from the party for six years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2023 ANN All Rights Reserved