Ram Temple Movement, The Anonymous, And Famous Faces

Ram temple movement is incomplete without mentioning these anonymous and famous faces. After a long battle of nearly five hundred years, on August 5, the auspicious time of Bhumi Pujan (Ram Mandir Bhoomi Pujan) is coming for the construction of Ram temple.

Many people have spent their lives on this journey. Whenever there is a reference to it, its main characters will be remembered. These include people like LK Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi, Kalyan Singh, Vinay Katiyar, Sadhvi Ritambhara, Mahant Avaidyanath, Suresh Baghel, Kothari Bandhu and Praveen Togadia.

Because of this, this journey has reached construction. These are well-known names but there are also some anonymous names without which this movement would be considered incomplete. Such as Mahant Raghubar Das, Gopal Singh Visharad, KK Nair and Suresh Baghel, etc.

Mahant Raghubar Das: In the year 1853, there was a dispute in Ayodhya about a temple and a mosque. Then Ayodhya came under the rule of Wajid Ali Shah, the Nawab of Awadh.

At that time, people of the Nirmohi sect, who believed in Hinduism, had claimed that the temple was broken and a mosque was built here during Babur. In 1859, the British government put wires around the mosque and separated the places of worship of the two communities.

Muslims were given inside space, Hindus were given outside. But after this quarrel, the case reached court for the first time in 1885. Mahant Raghubar Das filed an appeal in the Faizabad court to allow the construction of the Ram temple near the Babri Masjid.

Gopal Singh Visharad: The first suit after independence (regular suit no. 2/1950) was filed by a visiting devotee Gopal Singh Visharad on 16 January 1950, in the court of Civil Judge, Faizabad.

He was the then district Gonda of Uttar Pradesh, a resident of the present district Balrampur and the district president of the Hindu Mahasabha, Gonda. On 14 January 1950, Gopal Singh Visharad was stopped by the police when he was going to Sri Ram Janmabhoomi to see God. The police were also stopping other visitors.

Gopal Singh Visharad prayed to the district court that “a permanent and continuing injunction is issued against the defendants so that the statues of Lord Ramchandra, etc., from the defendant’s place of birth, Lord Ramachandra, etc. should never be removed from the place where they are and its entrance and Do not stop other transit routes and do not disturb any kind of worship.

KK Nair: KK Nair (K. K. Nayar), a resident of Alappi in Kerala, is also the unsung hero of the visit to the Ram temple. Nair was a 1930 batch IAS officer. Nair became the Collector of Faizabad on 1 June 1949.

On 23 December 1949, when the idols of Lord Rama were installed in the mosque, he expressed his inability to carry out the order despite the then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and Chief Minister Govind Ballabh Pant saying twice. Even said that before removing the idols, I should be removed.

Given the communal atmosphere of the country, the government backtracked. DM Nair took voluntary retirement in 1952. For the fourth Lok Sabha, he reached the Lok Sabha on a Jana Sangh ticket from Bahraich seat of Uttar Pradesh.

Nair became such a great symbol of Hindutva in this area that his wife Shakuntala Nair also reached Lok Sabha on three Jana Sangh tickets from Kaiserganj. His driver also became a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly. “

Suresh Baghel: 30 years ago, the name of Vrindavan Hinduist leader Suresh Baghel, who made his first and strong attempt to demolish the disputed structure of Babri Masjid by joining Ram temple movement in 1990, is hardly remembered today.

He has faced court-court, arrests, jail, threats, Muflisi and distance from family for the temple. At this time, he is living in a private company working at Rs 6000 per month. He never politically discounted his contribution to the temple movement. Neither spread his hands in front of any party.

Characters in the limelight

Mahant Digvijay Nath: Mahant Digvijay Nath of Gorakshanath Math was one of the few persons who had imagined Babri Masjid to be converted into a temple. The statue of Lord Rama was placed under the disputed structure on 22 December 1949 under his leadership.

Then along with Vinayak Damodar Savarkar of the Hindu Mahasabha, it was Digvijay Nath who commanded this movement. Members of the Hindu Mahasabha did this work in Ayodhya then.

LK Advani: In June 1989, BJP started giving formal support to VHP. This gave new life to the temple movement. Then top BJP leader LK Advani started Ram Rath Yatra from Somnath on 25 September 1990.

Advani got arrested by Lalu Prasad Yadav on 23 October 1990 in Samastipur. He has been the main architect of the ‘conspiracy’ to demolish the disputed structure in the original CBI charge sheet.

Kalyan Singh: Became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1991. Involved in ‘conspiracy’ to demolish mosque in original charge sheet of CBI. Dropped out of the case due to technical reasons. He was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh on 6 December 1992. He is accused that his police and administration did not deliberately stop the kar sevaks.

Ashok Singhal: Vishwa Hindu Parishad leader Ashok Singhal heads the Ramjanmabhoomi temple construction movement. The slogan was given to the kar sevaks, “Ram Lala, we have come, we will build the temple there.

One push and two breaks the Babri Masjid.” In the eyes of many, he was the ‘Chief Architect’ of the Ram Mandir movement. He was the President of VHP till 2011. He died on 17 November 2015.

Mahant Avaidyanath: Mahant Avaidyanath was the major face of the temple movement. He was the chairman of Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Mukti Yajna Committee. It is believed that on 6 December 1992, a plan to demolish the disputed structure in Ayodhya was made under his supervision.

In the Dharma Sansad (in 1989) organized by Vishwa Hindu Parishad for the temple, in the speech of Avaidyanath, it was the foundation of this movement.

Vinay Katiyar: Leader of Bajrang Dal, an association of Vishwa Hindu Parishad. According to the charge sheet, Katiyar said in a speech on 6 December, “The enthusiasm of our Bajrangis has surpassed even that of a storm, which will demolish all the Babri mosques.”

After December 6, Katiyar’s political stature increased rapidly. He also became the National General Secretary of BJP. Katiyar was elected three times MP from Faizabad Lok Sabha seat.

Murali Manohar Joshi: At the time of the demolition of Babri Masjid in 1992, Murali Manohar Joshi was the second major BJP leader after Advani. He was present in the disputed premises at the time of the incident on 6 December 1992. Uma Bharti hugged him when the dome fell.

Sadhvi Ritambhara: She was once a firebrand leader of Hindutva. Charges of criminal conspiracy were framed against him in the Babri Masjid demolition case.

Audio cassettes of her fiery speeches were distributed all over the country, in which she used to challenge opponents by calling ‘Babur ki Alaud’. Currently lives in Vrindavan.

Senior UP journalist TP Shahi says that along with these characters, people who fought the case against it and who stuck political hurdles in it will be remembered. Especially Lalu Prasad Yadav and Mulayam Singh Yadav. The two leaders also reaped a political crop of opposition to the temple movement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2023 ANN All Rights Reserved