Jignesh Mevani And Kanhaiya Kumar Join Congress

Jignesh Mevani and Kanhaiya Kumar join Congress in presence of Rahul Gandhi.

Former JNU student leader Kanhaiya Kumar and Gujarat MLA Jignesh Mevani on Tuesday joined the Congress in the presence of party leader Rahul Gandhi at the Congress headquarters in New Delhi.

Earlier, Kanhaiya and Jignesh Mevani called on Rahul Gandhi on the 114th birth anniversary of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh at Shaheed-e-Azam Bhagat Singh Park, ITO, Delhi today.

KC Venugopal, who was present on the stage of Congress Headquarters, said that we look forward to working with young leaders Kanhaiya Kumar and Mevani to defeat the fascist forces ruling the country.

Congress leader Venugopal further said that Kanhaiya Kumar is a symbol of the fight for freedom of expression in this country.

He has fought against fundamentalism as a student leader. The induction of such a dynamic personality will fill the entire cadre of Congress with enthusiasm.

Kanhaiya Kumar was a member of the National Executive of the Communist Party of India (CPI), an apex decision-making body of the party.

Whereas Mevani is an independent MLA from the Vadgam constituency of Gujarat and convener of Rashtriya Dalit Adhikar Manch (RDAM).

The former JNU student leader had also contested against Union Minister Giriraj Singh from Begusarai Lok Sabha seat in Bihar in the 2019 general election.

Since then he remained in the CPI as a low-profile leader.

Mevani, on the other hand, had won from the reserved Vadgam assembly seat in the 2017 Gujarat assembly elections. The Congress did not field its candidate against Mevani in the Vadgam constituency.

Let us tell you that the biggest concern of the Congress, which is continuously losing ground in the country, is the lack of leaders with a large mass base.

Both these leaders are known for their speeches and popularity among the youth.

Earlier this year, Jitin Prasada and Sushmita Dev had resigned from the primary membership of Congress.

Prasad joined the BJP and is now a minister in the Uttar Pradesh government, while Dev became a part of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022 ANN All Rights Reserved